clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Zach Hyman is the Maple Leafs nominee for the Masterton Trophy

New, comments

The NHL Awards season is now underway.

Tampa Bay Lightning v Toronto Maple Leafs Photo by Mark Blinch/NHLI via Getty Images

The NHL cancelled their annual awards show, set to air in Las Vegas on June 17. But they didn’t cancel the awards. They’ve been cagey about how exactly they will announce the winners, but the segment of the awards that have nominees will be announced in a regularly scheduled manner, preceded by leaks, which is now as traditional as the awards themselves.

The first award nominees to be announced is for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy. This trophy is awarded to the player best exemplifying perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey. The nominees, three finalists and eventual winner are chosen by the members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association, and a grant is given each year to the Bill Masterton Scholarship Fund.

Last year’s winner was Robin Lehner, and in the modern era, the award has become fairly closely tied to recovery from health issues. Jason Blake is the last Maple Leaf to win the award in 2008.

This year’s Maple Leafs nominee is Zach Hyman, and he, along with many players on the full list, was coming back from a major injury this season. The Marlies got to see Stephen Johns triumphant return from a very long layoff due to concussion symptoms when he did a short, sharp and painful (to us) tour of the AHL on the Texas Stars. Our old friend James Reimer wasn’t the most famous man to take the net in Carolina, but he did struggle mightily with injury.

Bobby Ryan publicly dealt with addiction issues and then triumphantly returned to score a hat trick in his first game back. Shea Theodore discovered a cancer very early because of testing for doping at the World Championships last summer. Oskar Lindblom, still in treatment, discovered his bone cancer in December. Theodore had an excellent season, but Lindblom won’t play this year at all.

Every player on the list has a story, and every one of them is dedicated to the sport.

2020 Masterton Trophy Nominees

Team Nominee
Team Nominee
Anaheim Ducks Ryan Miller
Arizona Coyotes Conor Garland
Boston Bruins Kevan Miller
Buffalo Sabres Curtis Lazar
Calgary Flames Mark Giordano
Carolina Hurricanes James Reimer
Chicago Blackhawks Corey Crawford
Colorado Avalanche Ryan Graves
Columbus Blue Jackets Nathan Gerbe
Dallas Stars Stephen Johns
Detroit Red Wings Robby Fabbri
Edmonton Oilers Connor McDavid
Florida Panthers Noel Acciari
Los Angeles Kings Jonathan Quick
Minnesota Wild Alex Stalock
Montreal Canadiens Shea Weber
Nashville Predators Jarred Tinordi
New Jersey Devils Travis Zajac
New York Islanders Thomas Hickey
New York Rangers Henrik Lunkqvist
Ottawa Senators Bobby Ryan
Philadelphia Flyers Oskar Lindblom
Pittsburgh Penguins Evgeni Malkin
San Jose Sharks Joe Thornton
St. Louis Blues Jay Bouwmeester
Tampa Bay Lightning Alex Killorn
Toronto Maple Leafs Zach Hyman
Vancouver Canucks Jacob Markstrom
Vegas Golden Knights Shea Theodore
Washington Capitals Michal Kempny
Winnipeg Jets Mark Letestu