Tonight at the NHL Awards & Expansion Draft we will find out the biggest questions that NHL fans want to know.

Who will win the coveted Mark Messier Leadership Award for being a good leader like Mark Messier as voted by Mark Messier? We already know that because, like the Oscars, they gave out some awards no one cares about the night before.

What AHLer will Las Vegas select from the Maple Leafs?

Will Roberto Luongo become a Vegas Golden Knight despite his best efforts?

All this and more will be found out tonight! At the 2017 NHL Awards & Expansion Draft spectacular!

2017 NHL Awards
Time: 8:00PM ET
Place: T-Mobile Arena, Las Vegas
Channels: NBC Sports, Sportsnet
Stream it: NBC Sports App, Sportsnet Now

The NHL has said that the Vegas Golden Knights will announce their picks in between award announcements. Three players will be announced at a time, spaced out just enough to get you to watch the entire goddamn awards show.

This year the Awards will be hosted by Joe Manganiello, best known as being the werewolf from True Blood, a dude in Magic Mike, the upcoming movie based on the Rampage video game beside The Rock, as well as Hefty Smurf in the Smurf movie series. Smurftastic!

Darren Millard and Kathryn Tappen will make the expansion draft pick announcements.


Hart Memorial Trophy
“Player judged most valuable to his team"

Sergei Bobrovsky - 63GP - 2.06GAA - .931sv% - 7SO
Sidney Crosby - 75GP - 44G - 45A - 99Pts (Won in ‘07 & ‘14)
Connor McDavid - 82GP - 30G - 70A - 100Pts

Ted Lindsay Award
“Most outstanding player in the regular season as judged by the members of the NHL Players Association”

Brent Burns
Sidney Crosby (Won in ‘07, ‘13, ‘14)
Connor McDavid

James Norris Memorial Trophy
“Defense player who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-round ability in the position”

Brent Burns
Victor Hedman
Erik Karlsson (Won in ‘15)

Vezina Trophy
“Goaltender who is adjudged to be the best at this position"

Sergei Bobrovsky (Won in ‘13)
Braden Holtby (Won in ‘16)
Carey Price (Won in ‘15)

Calder Memorial Trophy
“The player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the National Hockey League”

Auston Matthews
Patrik Laine
Zach Werenski

Frank J. Selke Trophy
“Forward who demonstrates the most skill in the defensive component of the game”

Patrice Bergeron (Won in ‘12, ‘14, ‘15)
Ryan Kesler (Won in ‘11)
Mikko Koivu

Lady Byng Trophy
“Player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability”

Johnny Gaudreau
Mikael Granlund
Vladimir Tarasenko

Jack Adams Award
“The coach adjudged to have contributed the most to his team's success. (And will be fired next season)”

Mike Babcock
Todd McLellan
John Tortorella (Won in ‘04)

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy
“Player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to ice hockey.”

Craig Anderson
Andrew Cogliano
Derek Ryan

NHL General Manager of the Year Award
“Awarded to the top National Hockey League General Manager”

Peter Chiarelli
Pierre Dorion
David Poile

NHL Foundation Player Award
“NHL player who applies the core values of hockey—commitment, perseverance and teamwork—to enrich the lives of people in his community”

Travis Hamonic
Wayne Simmonds

This award was handed out on Tuesday to Hamonic.

The NHL handed out some awards early, like they were technical awards at the Oscars.

Mark Messier Leadership Award for being a good leader like Mark Messier as voted by Mark Messier Sponsored by Cold-FX
“Player judged by Mark Messier to be as good a leader as Mark Messier was”

Nick Foligno
Ryan Getzlaf
Mark Giordano
Mark Messier

The award went to Nick Foligno, who Mark Messier decided was the best leader who led like Mark Messier the most.

King Clancy Memorial Trophy
“Player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and who has made a significant humanitarian contribution in his community”

One player from each team is nominated. The award was presented on Tuesday, and it went to Columbus forward Nick Foligno.

Jackets Cannon has you covered on why he was the best Community Leader.

The below awards are based on points and winners have already been announced,

Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy
“Top goal scorer in the regular season”

Winner: Sidney Crosby - 44 Goals in 75 games

Art Ross Trophy
Most Points

Winner: Connor McDavid - 100 points - 30G / 70A

Conn Smythe Trophy
“Most Valuable Player in the playoffs”

Winner: Sidney Crosby - was Sidney Crosby

William M. Jennings Trophy
“Awarded to the goaltender(s) having played a minimum of 25 games for the team with the fewest goals scored against it in the regular season”

Winner: Braden Holtby - 2.07 GAA

The Forgotten Trophies

These awards have been lost to the sands of time, but worry not awards fan! I”m bringing them back!

Scotiabank/NHL Fan Fav Award
“Winner of a fan vote”

Letting the internet vote for things usually ruins them, which I guess is why this award was stopped being given out after 2010 when Roberto Luongo won. If this years vote were to happen, I would assume that it would be ruined by....Matt Martin winning! Congrats Mr. Martin. Your award is in the dumpster behind the Denny’s.

NHL/Sheraton Road Performer Award
“Awarded to the player who accrued the most road points during the regular season.”

Only given out once, to Joe Sakic in 2004, the winner received a $50 gift card to Sheraton Hotels, valid Sun-Thurs only, between March and April.

This years winner is Connor McDavid, who scored 52 points on the road, because everyone plays better when not in Edmonton.

MBNA/MasterCard Roger Crozier Saving Grace Award
“Goaltender who has played a minimum of 25 games and finished the season with the best save percentage”

Abandoned after the 2007 NHL Awards when Niklas Backstrom left it on the subway, it was purchased by myself at a local pawn shop and is now ready to be given out.

The 2017 winner is: Sergei Bobrovsky with a .931 sv%! Congrats Mr. Bobrovsky. You may reimburse me the $4.75 I paid for it if you wish to collect your award.

Bud Light NHL Plus/Minus Award
“Player, having played a minimum of 60 games, who leads the league in plus-minus statistics”

Last awarded to Pavel Datsyuk in 2008, the award was sold to a scrap dealer with a garbage bag full of Bud Light cans. I have built a new one out of some aluminum foil and this year’s winner is: a tie! Jason Zucker and Ryan Suter of the Minnesota Wild both finished with a +34!

Congrats boys, now don’t grip the award too hard or you’ll crush it.

I’m sure tonight’s show will be the best NHL Awards show I’ve ever watched!*

*It will be the first show I’ve ever watched.