Earlier this week, Hockey Canada announced that Bill Peters of the Carolina Hurricanes will be the head coach for Team Canada at this year’s IIHF World Championships in Denmark.  The tournament begins on May 4. Mike Yeo of the St. Louis Blues and Bob Boughner of the Florida Panthers will be his assistants.

Today they announced the start of their roster. With some spaces left optional for additions from early playoff exits, the roster looks like this:


Connor McDavid
Ryan Nugent-Hopkins
Jordan Eberle
Mathew Barzal
Ryan O’Reilly
Bo Horvat
Anthony Beauvillier
Jean-Gabriel Pageau
Brayden Schenn
Jaden Schwartz


Aaron Ekblad
Ryan Pulock
Thomas Chabot
Vince Dunn
Joel Edmundson
Darnell Nurse
Colton Parayko


Darcy Kuemper