One of the best parts of the NHL Stanley Cup Playoffs format this year is the reseeding after each round. It makes the regular season mean something significant, and in the case of the eight top teams that played in the Seeding Round, it makes that mean something more than a tuneup for the real show.

Sixteen teams entered the real show of Round One ordered by their Seeding and Qualifying finishes, and eight will leave to play each other in Round Two. The team in first plays the team in fourth and the second place finisher meets the third in each hub.

Toronto Hub final of Round One

  1. Philadelphia
  2. Tampa Bay
  3. Washington
  4. Boston
  5. Carolina
  6. New York Islanders
  7. Columbus
  8. Montréal

Edmonton Hub final of Round One

  1. Vegas
  2. Colorado
  3. Dallas
  4. St. Louis
  5. Vancouver
  6. Calgary
  7. Arizona
  8. Chicago

Bold are the winners.

In the east, the Flyers and the Islanders will try not to score against each other, and Tampa Bay is charged with eliminating Boston.

In the west, Vegas plays Vancouver, and Colorado plays Dallas.

Round Two will feature two series in each hub, and likely will mean the end of most of the afternoon or lunchtime hockey. Once Round Two is over, all the action moves to Edmonton.

Saturday now features Dallas at Colorado at 8 p.m. eastern time and Sunday has Boston at Tampa Bay, also at 8 p.m, and Vancouver at Vegas at 10:30 p.m.

Time to stay up really late!

Weekdays have the early game at 7 p.m., and there is one afternoon game set for Wednesday and a noon game next Saturday. If these series go the distance, they’ll run to September 3.