Today, the NHL announced all 31 nominees for the King Clancy Memorial Trophy. This award goes “to the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community.”

The nominees are selected by the teams, and this year’s are:

  • Anaheim Ducks: Cam Fowler
  • Arizona Coyotes: Oliver Ekman-Larsson
  • Boston Bruins: Zdeno Chara
  • Buffalo Sabres: Jack Eichel
  • Calgary Flames: Mark Giordano
  • Carolina Hurricanes: Justin Faulk
  • Chicago Blackhawks: Corey Crawford
  • Colorado Avalanche: Gabriel Landeskog
  • Columbus Blue Jackets: Nick Foligno
  • Dallas Stars: John Klingberg
  • Detroit Red Wings: Jimmy Howard
  • Edmonton Oilers: Leon Draisaitl
  • Florida Panthers: Roberto Luongo
  • Los Angeles Kings: Tyler Toffoli
  • Minnesota Wild: Jason Zucker
  • Montreal Canadiens: Max Domi
  • Nashville Predators: Pekka Rinne
  • New Jersey Devils: Kyle Palmieri
  • New York Islanders: Anders Lee
  • New York Rangers: Henrik Lundqvist
  • Ottawa Senators: Mark Borowiecki
  • Philadelphia Flyers: Claude Giroux
  • Pittsburgh Penguins: Matt Murray
  • San Jose Sharks: Brenden Dillon
  • St. Louis Blues: Ryan O’Reilly
  • Tampa Bay Lightning: Ryan Callahan
  • Toronto Maple Leafs: Zach Hyman
  • Vancouver Canucks: Alexander Edler
  • Vegas Golden Knights: Deryk Engelland
  • Washington Capitals: Tom Wilson
  • Winnipeg Jets: Bryan Little/

The three finalists for the award will be announced on Tuesday, April 23. The winner, chosen by a committee of NHL executives, will be announced at the NHL Awards this June. The first-place finisher will receive a $40,000 donation from the National Hockey League Foundation to benefit a charity or charities of the winner’s choice, and the two runners-up will each receive a $5,000 donation from the National Hockey League Foundation to benefit a charity or charities of their choice.

Zach Hyman raises money via his golf tournament. This year’s recipients are the UJA Federation of Greater Toronto, Sick Kids Hospital and Right to Play.

Hyman was also the Leafs You Can Play ambassador this year, taking that job over from James van Riemsdyk.

We all know what his leadership on the ice looks like, and if you watch for Leafs events for MLSE Foundation, at Sick Kids or anywhere else, there’s always one man you know will be there.

Congratulations on the nomination, and try not to be too surprised when it goes to Mark Borowiecki.