The field of teams is down to eight, for the quarterfinals today. There are two games in Moscow, two in St. Petersburg, and the losers go home, while the winners play on Saturday in the semifinals.

When and where

Moscow Ice Palace

9:15am Toronto time
Czech Republic vs USA on TSN 1, 3, 4 and 5
1:15pm Toronto time
Russia vs Germany on TSN 2

St. Petersburg Yubileiny arena

9:15am Toronto time
Finland vs Denmark on TSN 2
1:15pm Toronto time
Canada vs Sweden on TSN 1, 3, 4 and 5

For fans in America the USA game is available on NBC.

If you can't watch the game, a live ticker of game actions is available from the IIHF homepage. Look for the LIVE link next to the game you want to follow, once the game has begun.

Who's going to win?

Ray Ferraro predicted on air during the last day of the round-robin that the top four teams would all win their quarterfinals. That is: the Czech Republic, Russia, Finland and Canada.

If that happens, then Auston Matthews goes home without a chance at a medal, further fuelling the Laine vs Mattews hype, as there is virtually no chance that Finland does not win their quarterfinal. The Czech team has outperformed most people's expectations, but the USA is just not good enough in goal or on the blueline to compete with their young and inexperienced forwards. Matthews will likely play his last game today. The USA really will need a miracle on ice to beat this solid Czech team.

Russia should easily topple Germany, even with Thomas Greiss in net. Their offensive punch is just too limited, and Russia can beat any team in this tournament below the top three with just their bottom six.

Which leaves Canada facing perhaps an unexpected opponent in Sweden. After their humiliating Finnish lesson on Tuesday, where they were shutout 4-0, Canada will be looking for redemption. If coach Bill Peters can settle on some forward lines that work, they should easily outscore the weak Swedish side. The problem will come, as it did with Finland, in controlling the play away from the puck and in the defensive zone.