The CWHL All-Star Draft took place on Saturday night in Toronto. The event was closed to media but available to mobile users on instagram and tweeted out by the league twitter.

The event was hosted by speed skater Anastasia Bucsis. As in previous years, the team captains took turns selecting their starting line-up before picking the rest of their teams through a draw.  A new twist was that the last player to be drafted would have the power to select which coaching staff her team used. It was also announced late in the draft that she would be able to take home a picture from the CAN Fund Gallery where the event was held.

The coaching combinations will be former Olympian and Canadiennes goalie Charline Labonté, with Glenn Healy and Gerry Dee versus former Olympian and Mississauga Chiefs (CWHL team from 2007-10) forward Cheryl Pounder with Curtis Joseph and Anastasia Bucsis. (Yes, I know the head coaches are the ex-NHLers. Fuck that, it is Team Labonté vs Team Pounder around here.)

Team Purple captain Brigette Lacquette won the fan vote for All-Star Captain by a landslide, so she was allowed to pick first.

Team Purple

Starting Forwards: Marie-Philip Poulin, Les Canadiennes de Montréal, Sarah Nurse, Toronto Furies,  Blayre Turnbull, Calgary Inferno

Starting Defence: Captain Brigette Lacquette and Halli Krzyzaniak, Calgary Inferno

Starting Goalie: Emerance Maschmeyer, Les Canadiennes de Montréal

Forwards: Jamie Lee Rattray, Laura Stacey and  Victoria Bach - Markham Thunder, Cayley Mercer (substituting for Rachel Llanes, who is injured)  and  Hannah Miller - Shenzhen Rays, Zoe Hickel - Calgary Inferno

Defence: Renata Fast and Mellissa Channell - Toronto Furies, Lauren Williams - Worcester Blades, Lauriane Rougeau - Les Canadiennes de Montréal

Goalie: Alex Rigsby - Calgary Inferno

Team Gold

Starting Goalie: Captain Liz Knox, Markham Thunder

Starting Forwards: Brianna Decker, Calgary Inferno, Ann-Sophie Bettez, Les Canadiennes de Montréal, Natalie Spooner, Toronto Furies

Starting Defence: Jocelyne Larocque, Markham Thunder, Jessica Wong, Shenzhen Rays

Forwards:  Jill Saulnier and Hilary Knight - Les Canadiennes de Montréal, Hanna Bunton and Alex Carpenter - Shenzhen Rays, Brianne Jenner and Rebecca Johnston - Calgary Inferno

Defence: Kacey Bellamy - Calgary Inferno, Megan Bozek and Laura Fortino - Markham Thunder, Erin Ambrose - Les Canadiennes de Montréal

Goalie: Noora Räty, Shenzhen Rays

Alex Carpenter was the last player picked so,  by her choice, Team Gold will be Team Labonté, while Team Purple will be Team Pounder.

Tune in to Sportsnet  or Sportsnet NOW at 1:30 pm EST to watch the game!