clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

PPP Pre-season predictions recap: How badly did we guess the NHL Awards?

New, comments

Not very well...

2019 NHL Awards Photo by Bruce Bennett/Getty Images

Last week we looked back at our predictions for the Maple Leafs and playoffs that we made before the season, and now that the player awards have been handed out we can finish things off with finding out just how badly we guessed.

So, to fill in this boring day before the draft begins, let’s check out how we did.

Calder Trophy

Voter Winner
Voter Winner
seldo Brady Tkachuk
katya Rasmus Dahlin
Arvind Elias Pettersson
Kevin Elias Pettersson
Fulemin Elias Pettersson
Brigstew Dylan Strome
Hardev Rasmus Dahlin
Species Rasmus Dahlin
nafio Rasmus Dahlin
Annie Elias Pettersson
Actual Winner Elias Pettersson

Starting off well, Elias Petterson tied with Dahlin for first place, so four of our writers got that one correct. I overthought Tkachuk’s impact on a terrible Senators team, and Brigstew picked Dylan Strome, which I thought couldn’t be right, but he was Calder reliable.

Selke Trophy

Voters Winners
Voters Winners
seldo Sean Couturier
katya Patrice Bergeron
Arvind Sean Couturier
Kevin Patrice Bergeron
Fulemin Sean Couturier
Brigstew Patrice Bergeron
Hardev Sean Couturier
Species Sean Couturier
nafio Patrice Bergeron
Annie Sean Couturier
Actual Winner Ryan O'Reilly

Oh boy, we could all use a do-over here. We settled into two camps - Sean Couturier and Patrice Bergeron. Both were wrong as it went to Conn Smythe winner Ryan O’Reilly.

Vezina Trophy

Voter Winner
Voter Winner
seldo Frederik Andersen
katya Sergei Bobrovskiy
Arvind John Gibson
Kevin John Gibson
Fulemin Andrei Vasilevskiy
Brigstew Frederik Andersen
Hardev Andrei Vasilevskiy
Species Frederik Andersen
nafio Frederik Andersen
Annie Frederik Andersen
Actual Winner Andrei Vasilevskiy

Our first instance of being a big ol’ bunch of homers here, as the Leafs’ own Frederik Andersen led the voting with five votes. Fulemin and Hardev got it correct by picking Andrei Vasilevskiy, Arvind and Kevin went west with Gibson and Katya picked a goalie who had something to prove going into free agency with Sergei Bobrovsky.

Norris Trophy

Voter Winner
Voter Winner
seldo Victor Hedman
katya Victor Hedman
Arvind Drew Doughty
Kevin Victor Hedman
Fulemin Victor Hedman
Brigstew Ivan Provorov
Hardev Seth Jones
Species Victor Hedman
nafio Ivan Provorov
Annie Ivan Provorov
Actual Winner Mark Giordano

Another one we all whiffed on. Calgary Flames Mark Giordano won the award, None of our picks even made it into the top three. A very disappointing year for awards picks.

Rocket Richard Award

Voter Winner
Voter Winner
seldo Patrik Laine
katya Patrik Laine
Arvind Connor McDavid
Kevin Patrik Laine
Fulemin Auston Matthews
Brigstew Auston Matthews
Hardev Alexander Ovechkin
Species Auston Matthews
nafio Auston Matthews
Annie Auston Matthews
Actual winner Alexander Ovechkin

For the most goals scored, a lot of us went with Matthews, but he finished 17th on the list with 37. the second most popular pick was Patrik ‘down year’ Laine who scored only 30 goals, and finished 43rd in the league. Connor McDavid had one vote, and he was 10th with 41, ten goals behind the winner - Alex Ovechkin, who was picked only once, by Hardev.

Art Ross

Voter Winner
Voter Winner
seldo Mitch Marner
katya Connor McDavid
Arvind Connor McDavid
Kevin Connor McDavid
Fulemin Connor McDavid
Brigstew Connor McDavid
Hardev Connor McDavid
Species James van Riemsdyk
nafio Connor McDavid
Annie Connor McDavid
Actual winner Nikita Kucherov

If we were a baseball team we’d be the Blue Jays with how hard we’re missing pitches here. Connor McDavid was the overwhelming choice to score the most points, but he finished second to Kucherov’s 128 points with 116 of his own. I picked Marner, because I believed in the power of John Tavares. He didn’t do too badly, scoring 94 points.

Hart Trophy

Voter Winner
Voter Winner
seldo John Tavares
katya Taylor Hall
Arvind Connor McDavid
Kevin Connor McDavid
Fulemin Connor McDavid
Brigstew Connor McDavid
Hardev Connor McDavid
Species Auston Matthews
nafio Taylor Hall
Annie Auston Matthews
Actual Nikita Kucherov

McDavid was the popular pick, with Taylor Hall and Auston Matthews also getting some votes, but Nikita Kucherov walked away with the trophy.

It was a sad year for predictions, but hey, no one could have predicted the Lightning’s regular season - or their playoffs for that matter.